Vision

Approximately one half of blind people suffer from untreatable conditions. These are degenerations of the nervous part of the eye, especially the retina, which generates electrical current from light stimulation and the optic nerve, which transmits the current to the brain where the image is interpreted. Retinal and optic nerve degenerations are at the frontiers of medicine. Indeed, neuron replacement still remains a challenge and it is impossible to re-connect a severed optic nerve, which prevents the graft of an eye. These very severe conditions lead to visual loss, generally in a progressive manner but sometimes already from birth, and in most cases are irreversible. We therefore need to design and validate new treatments, which will prevent the progression of the disease towards vision loss. One also must try to repair lesions to restore vision.

1.1. Retinal dystrophies and the visual cycle in the retinal pigment epithelium

Img2 Brabet

Most monogenic forms of inherited retinopathies are associated with genes expressed in photoreceptors (PR) or retinal pigment epithelium (RPE) where they encode  
proteins that are critical for PR structure, function and survival. Specific cellular processes and biochemical pathways implicated in retinal dystrophies include: PR development, morphogenesis, photo transduction, visual cycle, cellular metabolism, protein folding, among others.

Read more...


1.2. Inherited Optic Neuropathies and Mitochondrial Disorders

Lenaers AO

The non-syndromic hereditary optic neuropathies, including primarily the Dominant Optic Atrophy (DOA, prevalence 1/20 000) and the Leber Hereditary Optic Neuropathy (LHON, prevalence 1/30 000) are leading causes of hereditary blindness in Western countries. They are characterized by a degenerative process of the retinal ganglion cells (RGCs), with consequently a loss of the optic nerve fibers leading to the impairment of the visual transduction from the retina to the brain. Today, there is no treatment to prevent the progress of the degenerative process.

Read more...


1.3. Genetics of retinitis pigmentosa

Img RP grand

Inherited retinal dystrophies, prevalence 1/3000 in developed countries, belong to the vast group of neurodegenerations. They are Mendelian genetic conditions leading to the dysfunction and cell death of various retinal cell types, thus causing a loss in vision. Most of these diseases are due to death of photoreceptors and of their supporting tissue, the retinal pigment epithelium. When the initial lesions are located in the peripheral regions of the retina, they are defined as pigmentary retinopathies, including the retinitis pigmentosa (RP); when they are located in the central macula, they are named macular dystrophies (MD), including Stargardt disease and Best disease.

Read more...

1.4. Gene therapy of retinal dystrophies

iPSc

The retina is particularly amenable to gene therapy because it is accessible via relatively non-invasive routes, it is small and enclosed allowing the use of small vector doses, and it is immuno-privileged due to sequestration from the systemic circulation by the blood-retina barrier. Moreover, retinal dystrophies are favourable candidates for gene therapy because they are often monogenic, have characteristic clinical signs allowing an early diagnosis, and progress slowly to blindness allowing a large therapeutic window. However, there are a growing number of retinal diseases that lack an appropriate animal model, which compromises their chances of one day reaching the stage of a clinical therapeutic trial.

 

Read more...

Vision

Environ la moitié des aveugles souffre de maladies ophtalmologiques incurables. Ce sont des dégénérescences de la partie nerveuse de l’œil, en particulier la rétine qui génère le courant électrique à partir de la stimulation lumineuse et le nerf optique qui transmet ce courant au cerveau où l’image est interprétée. Ces maladies dégénératives sont à la frontière des possibilités médicales actuelles. En effet, le remplacement des neurones reste encore un challenge et on ne peut pas reconnecter un nerf optique qui a été sectionné, d’où l’impossibilité de greffer un œil. Ces maladies très invalidantes conduisent à une perte de vision, généralement de manière progressive au cours de la vie, mais quelquefois totale dès la naissance, et dans la majorité des cas irréversible. Il est donc nécessaire d’élaborer et de valider de nouveaux traitements dans le but d’empêcher la progression de la maladie, et éventuellement de réparer les lésions pour restaurer la vision devenue défectueuse.

1.1. Les dystrophies rétiniennes et le cycle visuel dans l’épithélium pigmentaire rétinien

Img2 Brabet


La plupart des formes monogéniques de rétinopathies héréditaires est associée à des gènes exprimés dans les photorécepteurs (PR) ou dans l'épithélium pigmentaire rétinien (EPR) où ils codent pour des protéines qui sont essentielles pour la structure, la fonction et la survie. Les processus cellulaires et les voies biochimiques spécifiques impliquées dans les dystrophies rétiniennes sont, entre autres, le développement des PR, la morphogenèse, la photo-transduction, le cycle visuel, le métabolisme cellulaire et le repliement des protéines.

En savoir plus...


1.2. Neuropathies Optiques Héréditaires et Déficits Mitochondriaux

Lenaers AO


Les neuropathies optiques héréditaires, dont l’Atrophie Optique Dominante (AOD, prévalence 1/20 000) et la Neuropathie Optique Héréditaire de Leber (NOHL, prévalence 1/30 000) sont des causes importantes de cécité dans la société occidentale. Elles sont caractérisées par la dégénérescence des Cellules Ganglionnaires de la Rétine (CGRs), et de leurs axones transduisant l’information visuelle de la rétine au cerveau. Aujourd’hui, il n’existe aucun traitement efficace pour ces maladies.

En savoir plus...


1.3. Génétique des rétinites pigmentaires

Img RP grand

Les dystrophies rétiniennes héréditaires, prévalence de 1/3000 dans les pays développés, font partie du grand groupe des neurodégénérescences. Ce sont des maladies génétiques mendéliennes conduisant à un dysfonctionnement de la rétine et à une mort de différents types cellulaires rétiniens, entraînant une perte de vision. Ces maladies sont dues pour la plupart à la mort des photorécepteurs et à leur tissu de soutien, l’épithélium pigmentaire de la rétine. Celles dont les lésions initiales sont localisées dans les régions périphériques de la rétine sont appelées rétinopathies pigmentaires, incluant la rétinite pigmentaire (RP) alors que celles dont les lésions sont localisées au niveau de la macula située au centre optique de la rétine, sont dénommées dystrophies maculaires (DM), incluant la maladie de Stargardt et la maladie de Best.

En savoir plus...

1.4. Thérapie génique des dystrophies rétiniennes

iPSc

La rétine est une cible parfaite pour la thérapie génique car elle est facilement accessible par des méthodes peu invasives, elle est de petite taille, ce qui permet d’utiliser de faibles doses de vecteurs, et elle est immuno-privilégiée grâce à sa séparation de la circulation systémique par la présence de la barrière hémato-rétinienne. De plus, les dystrophies rétiniennes sont d’excellentes candidates pour la thérapie génique d’une part parce qu’elles sont souvent monogéniques, et d’autre part car elles peuvent être diagnostiquées précocement dans l’évolution de la maladie par des signes cliniques particuliers et progressent lentement vers la cécité, ouvrant ainsi une large fenêtre thérapeutique.

En savoir plus...